top of page
Search
  • crystallangen

YESTERDAY WAS MY GRANDMA’S FUNERAL.

YESTERDAY WAS MY GRANDMA’S FUNERAL. We had a rosary, a service, and a reception at the church, her favorite church is Speckles, CA. It is a tiny church that is very old but very well maintained and is across the street from rows and rows of fields of rich farm land - which is very common in the valley. Monterey County often has fog in the mornings and that day was no different - it was chilly and dewy as I arrived for the service. . My favorite parts of the service were the Rosary where I was able to stare at my Grandma’s photo and urn the whole time and go through many wonderful memories of her. It was hypnotic and peace-filled. And her urn was surrounded by the most gorgeous flowers that were bright pink and purple- she loved flowers (was an avid gardener!) and bright feminine colors. . I also loved my Aunt’s eulogy. It was heart felt, my aunt was so connected and present, so in touch with her love for her mother, so real, raw and vulnerable, and she spoke so gracefully pausing, delicately wiping her tears, taking deep breaths and feeling into her words as needed. It was extraordinary to watch. Moments like this are such a beautiful and also painful part of the human experience. I was very much in awareness of life’s fragility in that moment. . As we left the service, I joined the others as we walked toward the back of the church to exit the doors. Someone opened the double doors and it was literally like a scene from a movie. I was greeted by a BRIGHT LIGHT, the sun shining so brightly, the sky so blue and perfectly clear…nothing obstructing the view since all that laid before us was the wide vast dark earthen fields. The sky had opened up and the morning ocean mist had cleared - it was such a powerful and beautiful moment. Sky blue was one of my Grandma’s favorite colors- she even has a special sitting room pained that color in her home. :: In honor of my Grandma, I want to share with you 10 lessons I learned from her (I also thanked her for these lessons the day before she died): 1. Yes, you may still have desert (preferably something double-chocolate) even if you do not touch your dinner 2. 49ers forever baby!!! At least once in your life you need to have season tickets. And totally wear your 9er sweatshirt all the places. 3. Always put fancy lotion on (self care!) before bed each night 4. If your child has any sort of event you will clear your entire schedule to be there! 5. Nordstrom is the only place to shop - they have unbeatable customer service and they have a piano player where your husband can wait while you shop all day 6. You simply must go to SF every year for Christmas and you should always stay at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - call several months ahead to make sure you have a prime view of the giant Christmas tree in Union Square! 7. Yes to ALL the musicals and theater shows - and yes its TOTALLY acceptable to go to “Joseph and the Amazing Techno Colored Dream Coat” 8 times! 8. Self care, self care, self care. Even if that means wearing slippers with socks everyday everywhere. 9. It’s ok to be a strong, opinionated women who knows what she wants…how else would I be if not that? 10. Always zoom over to the person who is new, shy, or alone at the party…make them feel welcome, loved, and get to know every detail of their life. Bonus lesson: The winter is a perfectly acceptable time to go to the beach! All you need is your 9ers sweatshirt, a fluffy comforter, and a good book to read as you watch the crashing waves. ♥️

xoxo Grandma. You are so loved. Thank you for buying me that Cabbage Patch Doll I wanted so badly for Christmas when I was 5 and for all those big hugs and kisses every time I saw you.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page